Hi, everyone out there I am new to Daniweb but have been reading the forums. I'm glad that I joined. I am in desperate need of help in coding a web page that grabs the name and email address of all the peoples from a database and then when the viewer clicks on a person a form will be displayed so the user can enter their Name, Email and write a message, then when they click submit the message will be sent to the email of the person they clicked on. I have ben working on this for a month now, but still have no results. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
HappyHappy

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

What you need to do is pull all the information on the database out using something like:

"SELECT DISTINCT UserID, UserName FROM Users WHERE NOT UserID IS NULL AND NOT UserName IS NULL"

Depending on the size of your database and the records it contains, you may want to add a paging function for this and limit the amount of users shown. It would be difficult to find one user if 2,000 are listed on the same page.

Then you will need to display them accordingly. You can use a DataList for the functionality of multiple columns ordered any way you wish, or you can user a repeater for ease, but you will only have 1 column unless you split it up, which you should do the datalist then.

Then you will create it like this:

<asp:DataList ID="dlUsers" RepeatColumns="3" runat="server>
<HeaderTemplate>
<!-- if needed, use it. otherwise get rid of it -->
<strong>Users</strong>
</HeaderTemplate>
<ItemTemplate>
<!-- Use <A> if you are going to have the form on another page, otherwise use controls like LinkButton or Label. This is not easy with only ASP.NET, you will need javascript if you wish it to be same page as well.  -->
<a href="mailpage.aspx?id=<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "UserID") %>&name=<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "UserName") %>"><%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "UserName") %></a>
</ItemTemplate>
<FooterTemplate>