Hi, I am very new to php and this forum so sorry if this has been asked over and over but I can't find anything when searching.

Anyway I have used some script I found on the net which has a register a new member form and a login form which then redirects to a secure page, all of this works fine. I have added an extra textfield in the register form which will pull the id from the url i.e. www.mysite/register.php?id=1 and then echo it back into the new textfield of the form. I have done this so if a new member has been refered by a member the id in the url will relate to the referer and I can then find out where the new member came from however when I submit the form I get this message - Notice: Undefined index: recomendedbyid in C:\wamp\www\mysite\register.php on line 65
Column 'recomendedbyid' cannot be null. It's as if it can't see the id that is showing in the textfield. The way I got the id into the textfield was by using
<td><?php $id = $_GET; ?>
<input type="int" name="textfield" id="textfield" value="<?php echo htmlentities($id);?>" /></td>
but that is all I have done, I havn't changed anything else in the orriginal code. I hope this makes sense and any help would be great.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

$id = $_GET['id']; This is looking for a get variable with name='id'. Change
name="textfield"
to
name="id". I believe this will fix it.

Hi, thanks for your quick reply but I need the id to from the url to show in the text field so when I submit the form the id will post to the database. If it helps this is the code I'm using to submit the form and the form itself with the change advised from you.

<?php require_once('modulatemedia.php'); ?>
<?php
if (!function_exists("GetSQLValueString")) {
function GetSQLValueString($theValue, $theType, $theDefinedValue = "", $theNotDefinedValue = "") 
{
  $theValue = get_magic_quotes_gpc() ? stripslashes($theValue) : $theValue;