Hi Folks,

I am Doug Malsbury, a B.S. degree Chemist and PC compatible Systems Analyst. I am 58 yrs old and getting started learning PHP and MySQL on my own.

I will be browsing around here looking for hints and suggestions I can use in my efforts to learn creation of dynamic web pages. Any suggestions will be appreciated!

I've got an Apache web server running in my house (actually my wifes computer) with PHP and MySQL on it and it works, meaning I've set it up right! She is running an AMD 2100XP motherboard with 256 M RAM, A 30G HD and a 60G HD.

Hope to 'talk' w/you'all (yep, I'm a Texan, not native, but I got here as fast as I could!) later,

Doug
dmalsbury@satx.rr.com

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi, I just started learning PHP myself this week. I've already got a little background on SQL from school, so that helped me jump into things quickly, but within 2 days I had a working site with little trouble. Even though I have programming experience through java and others, I think you will find PHP just as easy to learn as I did.

well for both of you this will help alot, check out the code snippit area, i and many others have submitted code for your very purpose, download them, play with them, learn them =)! it will probably be the very best way to learn, that way you can see how things really work when it comes to the nitty gritty of things!

Hi, I just started learning PHP myself this week. I've already got a little background on SQL from school, so that helped me jump into things quickly, but within 2 days I had a working site with little trouble. Even though I have programming experience through java and others, I think you will find PHP just as easy to learn as I did.

Hi Phaelax,