Good Afternoon Everyone;

Let me first start by apologizing to the moderators in advance if this is in the wrong forum but it is php / mysql related and I cannot find a place suitable for this thread. A few weeks back I had a discussion on these forums about creating my own CMS system in php. It was suggested in that thread that I post my progress. To help keep Daniweb clean and clear of over abundant posts I'll keep my updates to this thread alone.

Now let me introduce myself; I am a hard working man from Canada - I have a family and a full time job. Since I was roughly 16-17 years old I have dabbled in web design(all self taught); creating webpages both spectacular and well not so spectacular. I am moddest so I'll tell you that I am alright at css and html; I have completed several programming courses on the basics of php, c++/c, and c#. Quite frankly every week I try and sit down at the computer and spend countless hours researching and playing in php as any good beginner should. Because I live in the country I am surrounded by tractors and cattle instead of libraries where I can easily look up answers to my problems. So with all of that said I would like to state my three purposes of this project:

1)To further my own knowledge of php and mySQL
2)To build a program that works for me
3)To hopefully help other newcomers to php learn from my mistakes and be able to themselves build better programs.

I would love constructive criticism, advice, and resources if you care.

Now I know a lot of people are probably saying to themselves: "Why doesn't this guy just use *insert cms system here* and modify it to his needs?".