I developed a few pages to restrict access by way of a username and password login. I keep getting an error that says my session variable "login" is undefined. here is the code in question, though it might be more so on another page.

<cfif SESSION.login EQ "No">
<cflocation url="adminLogin.cfm" addtoken="no">
</cfif>

I have a cfinclude template on each page I want to restrict access to.

Some help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Tony

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Where are you setting the session variables? I'd also check the obvious things like is sessionManagement enabled in the application.cfm/cfc.

IIRC, there used to be an issue with setting session variables and using cflocation on the same page. Don't know if it still applies though.

I'm no expert but I think you may just need to cfparam SESSION.login with a default value of "no" <cfparam name="SESSION.login" default="no"> in your Application.cfm. I've personally found no problem using session vars and cflocation in this way, the only problem I can think of with cflocation is that you can't append URL vars to the cflocation URL, but you can append session vars....I could be wrong though ;-)

Where are you setting the session variables? I'd also check the obvious things like is sessionManagement enabled in the application.cfm/cfc.

IIRC, there used to be an issue with setting session variables and using cflocation on the same page. Don't know if it still applies though.

Hi arrgh, thanks for the help. I have an application.cfm that sets the session management to yes.

<!--- Code gets executed with every page request!! --->
<cfapplication name="login" sessionmanagement="Yes">
<cfparam name="SESSION.login" default="No" type="any">