Hi guys, I'm still pretty new to javascripting so be gentle

I hope you guys can help me out a little on this one.

I'm creating a page where I load some of my contents through ajax calls. In the returning content I'm trying to access some jquery features (lightbox for example). But this is apparantly not working out of the box

I have a plugin on my joomlasite which generates a colorbox popup (lightbox) from all links with the class "modal". This apparantly is not working on the contents I return with the ajax call.

From what I've seen , it seems that the plugin loads this little javascript snippet:

<script type="text/javascript">
			$h(document).ready(function(){
				$h('a.modalizer_link,a.modal,a.modalizer').colorbox({});
				$h('a.modalizer_link_image').colorbox({});
				$h('a.modalizer_link_external').colorbox({width:'80%',height:'80%',iframe:true});
			});
  </script>

And the javascript file itself is already added inside the main document.

Do you guys have any advice on how I go about this to be able to access this function with the contents I return in my Ajax call? And please... hold my hand a little here as I still consider my self a total n00b when it comes to Javascripting

Thanks in advance for any help ! :)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Aksel,

If I understand correctly, you put a (jquery?) plugin in place on the page then try to attach that plugin's functionality (colorbox) to links that are dynamically inserted, with ajax, into the DOM.

The first question is whether colorbox functionality can be successfully attached to links with class="modal" (etc) that are put in place when the page is first served served. The attachment should be effected with the $h(document).ready(function(){...}); code you posted above.

This will provide assurance that the plugin is successfully installed and working.

Only when you have this assurance can you address the trickier issue of attaching colorbox to the dynamically inserted links.

Airshow

Aksel,