Hello everyone,

I am very new in ASP.NET as a matter of fact I have not once programmed in asp.net before. However there is a small web UI application I want to develop; asp.net is the best solution.
Here is what I want to accomplish:
* Have a login page that will grant access to different master pages. each master page has its own database binding
* Each master page will have its pages with their functionalities
* A power user that can have access rights to all master pages
* can Database1, database2, database3, etc..with master page for db1,db2,db3
Here is the cenario:
want to have url https:www.itss.com/login.asp
Login page with username and Password
if the user is from database 1 then master page for datasebase 1 is loaded with all of its contents and pages
else if the user is from database 2 then master page for datasebase 2 is loaded with all of its contents and pages
else if the user is from database 3 then master page for datasebase 1 is loaded with all of its contents and pages
else if the user is power/owner then master database 1, master database 2 and master database 3 are loaded.
I would like to implement this through ASP.net and visual studio, programming in vb.net.
I need to know which version of asp.net and microsoft visual studio to use under windows 7.
In summary, I want to have a web interface that can be connected to multiple sql databases as a monitoring system.
these datasebase they will be on the same sql server, running iis and so forth..
I hope I am clear on my explination.
Thanks in advance..

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

That is a whole lot of development... you are definately going to be challenged if you are new to asp.net. I assume that you have programming experience.

So start you off, you do need to install Visual Studio on your computer. Microsoft provides a free version of Visual Studio for web development. Visual Studio 2012 Express for Web