Hello DaniWeb Family,

A few years after obtaining my Master's in Business, I decided to completely change careers and go back to school for web design and development. I've recently completed a 2-year program where I studied VB, ASP.NET, C#, Java, SQL, Server 2008, Photoshop, and Dreamweaver among other courses. I love designing and building the front-end of the website as well as writing programs and applications and building databases for the back-end. What I'd like to do now is build a database-driven dynamic website similar to Expedia.com but for a different industry. Is this do-able at my newbie level of expertise? Where should I start? I am not opposed to learning new languages or IDEs as I've been hearing alot about PHP though I have no experience with it. Any suggestions?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Where should I start?

Just start. Start building a regular website and extend it gradually with everything you need for such a website. If you already know ASP.NET I don't see why you'd want to do this in PHP.

Hello Pritaeas,

Thanks for responding. So this is my first time attempting something like this. From what I can tell, you recommend building the site in Visual Studio using ASP.NET. I have the front-end beautifully designed in Photoshop. Without loosing the aesthetics, can I flesh out this design in ASP.NET? Or should I build the pages in DreamWeaver and then carry them over to ASP.NET? Is there a way to do the latter if that is your recommendation?

I am used to generating HTML/CSS by hand, so I'm not the right person to give you advice on that. If DreamWeaver is your preferred choice to get the design in HTML, then do so.

You can develop asp.net using notepad if you wanted to. If Dreamweaver is your preferred app for development, then use it. There is no requirement to develop using Visual Studio. You can develop using whatever tool you wish, then copy the files to th webserver.