Hi all,

I'm currently building a login page for a JSP application, I've realised that im going to need to use sessions to recall the username on the login screen for other functionality.
Unfortunately i'm very new to the whole web development approach and i've tried searching for guides on JSP sessions but haven't manged to find anything.
Could anyone point me in the direction of a decent tutorial or help me out with some code for parsing a value e.g. "username" to a session and recalling for a later function.

Thanks for your time,

Rob.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The links provided to Marty Hall's book info have some valid information, but they book is not good, Marty Hall intentionally avoids anything useful in all but the most trivial applications. Also the book is QUITE old... That said, the sections on sessions shoudl be useful...

You may want to just limit your form's memory to cookies... which you can handle with Javascript...

I don't like to use sessions to store ANY information until I know the user is valid... Cookies will remember across session too, and server restarts, etc. so they are better for login page memory...

For form memory for internal forms, once the user has logged in, you have DB, XML, etc. that you can leverage... obviously DB is the best choice if you are using one... only resort to text files such as XML if you can't use a DB...

Also, once the user logs in you can store their user name etc. in sessions, but be careful... too many developers get carried away with session information... its like taking them to the candy store when they're 8 and letting them run loose... they want to save everything...