Hi everyone, well I am 31 and decided to change careers. I am currently a Law Enforcement Officer and have been one since I was 18 and in the military. I went back to school and got my A.S. in Information Science and Technology from Penn State and am about to finish my B.S. in Computer Systems and Technology (cum laude grad) at Duquesne University.

I am really nervous about switching careers but have worked so hard at juggling work and school that I am not turning back. I am hoping to get into Business Analysis, Project Management, or any other information related field. My technical skills are average for a new grad but my social, communication and leadership are above average since they have been a primary function of my current career.

Do you guys have any advice for me? If you could do it over again what would you have done differently? What should an adult, who is changing careers and looking to do well in IT know?

Thanks everyone.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Do you guys have any advice for me?

Probably nothing you haven't already heard.

If you could do it over again what would you have done differently?

Most certainly, I would have. If I knew what I know now, I'd probably not have gone the IT/developer route and would have kept it up just as a hobby.

What should an adult, who is changing careers and looking to do well in IT know?

Hmm, I'd probably say that you should try to leverage your age as "maturity" to compete with younger people fighting for the same jobs. Employers tend to look kindly on folks who aren't hot headed and ready to dive into potential risks without due forethought. ;)

You're in a sweet spot where you seem old enough to think before you act, but young enough not to be stubborn and set in your ways. It's a good place to be, in my opinion.

Be prepared to learn a lot and be wrong a lot. IT is fast paced and constantly in flux.