I am trying to figure out a way to understand how management, specifically Software Development, do what they do. I want to someday become a manager myself because I believe I can be successful at it. I am a developer at a small company and lately all I am handed are small tasks rather than large projects. The tasks come with some requirements, but no formal training or mentoring on the actual application that I will be dealing with. So far no problem, because I love to dig and figure things out. It is when management comes to me and asks for an ETA on completion that I have the issue. They don't want ball park or a date range. They want a date that I will complete the task. The problem is that analysis and the self education is not complete yet. I tell them that I have no solution as of yet, that the task is still in discovery and it is impossible to give an ETA. They don't want to hear that, all they want is a date. It appears that they want to put all the responsibility on me, so if I don't meet the date it is all my fault. I don't see the logic in that. Please somebody explain to me how this is project management. I asked why they do it this way and that is what they said, "That's project management".

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

The operative word here is project management. you m might want to use that program you give a heads up on any project you are assigned. Microsoft hase a good one, "Microsoft Project" use it to manage task for example from the start of the project, you have to doo research, analysis, training on the task put all thiose in and give yourself reasonable time to also include slack time (Breaks, Coffee any thing) at the end it will tell you down the the last second you will spend on the task