Im a newbie programer with very limited experience. Ive been fiddle faddling around with a couple different languages to see what I best, and then i started thinking that maybe im going at it backwards. I need to figure out what i want to program, and then use the right language for the job.

I sat down and pondered what i wanted my first "end project" to be. After awhile I decided that i want to create a program for the company i work for. We are in need of a "master" program that will store data. Names, part numbers and stock of our inventory, a list of clients and vendors, Invoices and so on. Our comapny is spread out in multiple states, so the program once installed on the server would need to be able to be accessed and modified via the internet. All this needs to be done in a nice handy GUI package.

Now i know some of you are thinking "First time programer to do all that? No way possible" And im sure your probably right, but you know what they say, shoot for the moon and even if you miss your still among stars... or something like that ;)

What im looking for is what language and inside the languages, besides basics, what areas should i focus on to achieve this goal ?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Well if you want this program installed on a server and accessed over the internet I would recommend you take a look at ASP.NET, which enables and aids construction of websites/services.
http://www.w3schools.com/aspnet/default.asp
Now I am not sure if you are comfortable with OOP (Object Oriented Programming) but I would recommend you use C# (OR visual basic) as the code - behind for your webpages.
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa288436.aspx

C# and ASP.NET are both components of Microsofts' .NET framework and work side by side together. You will need to download VIsual Studio 2008 Express (free):

http://www.microsoft.com/express/product/default.aspx