I am building a website for a real estate. As a designer I started doing the design in Photoshop, I am about to convert it in HTML but before I begin doing that I would like to know some things as this is my major concern.

How to make a filterable search function that will display the results on a frame / div of the same page. Displaying the picture, and basic some info.

Search an item by location, property name and property type.

Display each item properly on their respective categories menu.

I know it can be done with existing open source ecommerce templates, but it's too hard for me to learn all of that just for what i need. Also it's a little hard to integrate a custom design on the frontend.

Any help will be appreciated, guides, how to's, samples/template or codes will greatly help.

Thanks a lot!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You're asking for a simple way to do something potentially very difficult. The search functions you need would require a database and programming well beyond HTML.

If you haven't already discovered a solution for this, I would suggest you just hire a programmer.

Maybe you'll be lucky enough to find someone who's written something similar and all you'll need to do is input the data for your specific site.

What I need is a search function much like the Property Finder in this Website.

The database has been set-up using MySql.

I admit it's difficult, but maybe not for someone who is well-versed in this subject. And I am not, that's why I am asking for someone who can at least give me a hint on what to do so I can do it myself (with my basic knowledge and willingness to learn) without hiring a programmer. Or if no one is willing to help, I'll just try my luck as you have said.

Hmm... I am actually lazy to reply to this, forgive me if I seem rude - but you don't sound like you are really "willing" to do this, seem more like you just want someone to say "Here, Ctrl+c this and then Ctrl+v it here - It will work! :)"