Hi.
I'm not sure where this belongs, but it'll be fine here.

I came up with an idea for a website/service..
It's a really good idea.
I've searched, and searched..
I've found nothing like my idea in existence.
I think it has a lot of potential at becoming a popular service..

Problem is, I'm a high school student.
I have a server, but it's an old server under a co.nr domain, etc etc,,
Next semester in Computer Programming, I'm gonna start work on my idea.
I won't be able to host it just yet, because I haven't the needed resources (a strong server, loads of bandwidth, a domain name, time time time).

My question, is there any way to protect my idea, like, to have it patented? I want to pursue this as soon as I get the time.. Soon, that is.
I'm sure someone else has thought of my idea, as no human thoughts are original, but it isn't to be found on the Internet..

Thanks for suggestions. I'm just not sure how to approach the concept of protecting an idea. Think of this as a general question without specifics :cool:

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

My question, is there any way to protect my idea, like, to have it patented?

Yes and no.

Firstly, it depends on your local jurisdiction; in America, patents can cover very general ideas, in the UK they can only cover certain things; with exceptions including computer software and mathematic methods.

Secondly, it depends on proofing. You need to be able to prove that you either have implemented, or have throughoughly planned how to implement the idea. You also need to be able to comprehensively detail the parts of your idea that are unique and your own, and therefore patentable. It's more common for companies to patent tiny details of a product or service or system rather than the entire thing, which leads on to...