I've recently started studying the Unified Modeling Language.

I'm currently using an exam book as a study guide, because it presents features without holding back on information-representation at all. Afterward, I will study the book made by the first 3 who started developing UML (since OOPSLA/OOSE I believe, though I could be off by a few years >_<).

But, as I started learning the features in the UML, I realized that UML itself is a language O_O

Some of you may laugh at this, but I didn't at first think of UML as its own language. I thought that UML was a model with specific features for describing things, though this example is probably still not a convincing defense.

I realized that it has such a defined set a features for organizing information (not just data, but practical things too) that it is probably the most portable concept across different languages and design-ideas.

This makes me curious, though. If this language is so versatile and variable, why is there no forum dedicated to design-ideas and refinement of UML? Is the UML too easy to be placed in a forum (because, to me it "looks" easy, but understanding the fundamentals of UML and improving organization skills and data-representation isn't quite as easy)? Is it too broad?

-Alex

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

This makes me curious, though. If this language is so versatile and variable, why is there no forum dedicated to design-ideas and refinement of UML?

Not enough posts/week. If there was a forum for each specific language, people would get lost in the overwhelming amount.

UML questions are typically asked in the Computer Science and Software Development forum

UML is stupid and should be avoided. And definitely shouldn't be studied and studied and studied and studied and studied...

UML is stupid and should be avoided. And definitely shouldn't be studied and studied and studied and studied and studied...

Such a cold hear you have there X_X