I just read an article on The Register about Google Chrome OS introducing a new ActiveX style plug-in (Native Client) that allows the browser based OS to run native code and it just got me thinking. Am I alone in thinking that running *everything* on a browser isn't such a good idea? It seems like all these web 2.0 people are going nuts about cloud this and web application that, but I'm a bit hesitant to buy into all the hype.

From an ease of use standpoint, I can see the benefits of running business apps via the web, but from a security standpoint, doesn't it just add another layer of vulnerability with having the browser as an application with holes and the actual LOB application having different holes? I know the developer should be security minded, but there's no such thing as a 100% secure application. Plus, being a hobbyist game developer, I'm afraid WebGL won't compare to DirectX/OpenGL in terms of performance and graphics capabilities. I could be wrong, though.

Do I actually have a basis for my hesitance, or am I just trying to hold on to client apps with too hard a grip?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I saw in my previous work how it could ease the job (only in MS Sharepoint). But sadly the browser needs updates and these updates could creep the performance of the web-application. (many web-browser vendors with different browser core). Everything goes via https, so it is quite safe.
Anyway cloud computing is a nice on paper, but in reality, you need a computer hardware, the bandwidth must be stable and in good ration to employee numbers&workload. Also when the Internet (connection) go down, your employees can take a longer break or even vacation.

It is a nice thing for CIOs and managers to show/present to Shareholders. Also a nice thing, when you need from somewhere to do something ,and, the company can request its employees to work from home and at the same time lower their salary.