I am a newbie, and amateur and I am curious and I hope someone will help me with this, I want to post a thread and Honestly ask where hackers come from, their history and how they got started and most importantly who are they

!. Mafia
2. Just plain smart guys having fun
3. Techies, creating business

All these three above I have listed, I have gotten from people as I have asked, who are Hackers, where do they come from.

Thanks,
Eagle4ever

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

What kind of hacker? You have the traditional hackers who treat learning new things almost as a religion, and the more recent hackers who break into and defend systems. Are you talking about the subculture as a whole, or do you want individual anecdotes? I can personally vouch that there's great variance in background amongst individual hackers.

To my good friend Narue,

You are talking over my head, I thought a hacker was the people putting bugs on comuters, and causing that nasty blue screen, makeing me reformat because I don't know what to do.

I hope that didn't sound sarcastic It wasn't meant to be, I am dealing with supper intelligent people on this web site, and I am just a newbie to computers.

from what you have said it sounds more like a virus than a hacker.
quick definition:-

hacker = SOMEONE ACCESSES DATA OR A SYSTEM WHICH THEY DON'T HAVE ACCESS TO.

virus = COULD BE IN ANY SHAPE OR FORM AND COULD HAVE BEEN CREATED BY ONE OR MORE PEOPLE.

commented: Incorrect. +0

Then let me re-phrase my question, who is putting all these bugs on our computers and why, they make no money, so what do they get out of it. Are they Mafia, Smart guys having fun, or techies creating business, or what.

I know one thing they are vicious hateful people and they make sure no one enjoys a marvelous creation called the computer.