I’m in my second year of Computer Systems Technology – Networking course and I’m thinking of trying to find a job as a student to try to get more into my field and gain real world experience. I never had a job yet and never worked in an IT environment. I’m just looking for tips on what to put on my resume, and also what are some jobs that a student in his second can do?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

what knowledge/experience do you have? that's what you should put on your resume. don't go making things up.

If you have no work experience, theres not much you can do about that in your resume except not to focus on work experience. Do you have any awards or certifications that you can include in the resume? Any interships?

If you can afford to do some internships, take whatever they give you. The best part of an intership is not necessarily the expereince, but the opportunity for the company to evaluate your other skills such as people skills, customer service, oral and written communication, timeleness, organization etc...

The thing is that your potential employer can quickly determine if you have hte motivation to learn. They can teach you. What they are not interested in is hiring people with attitude and behavior problems. Its challenging to teach people how to be motivated, not to be late or be rude. So, the internships benefit both the internee and the organization.

get the word out through your social networks that you are interested in looking for an opportunity.

You may check some classifieds website which offer jobs and where you can also find the complete detail about job and you easily decied thst job is best for you or not.

what is a good job for a studnet in networking?

computer lab tech at your school or university in your city? This gives you exposure without an organization worrying about impacting a production network.