Hi Everyone,

I'm in a strange place in the beginning of 2007. I have to change careers from what I've been doing which was PHP, PERL, Javascript, mySQL systems on Linux for the Internet to doing ASP.NET, C#, etc. Its what everyone wants where I'm from and after working with it for the last month every single day I see why. Its an awesome tool to work with and the better I get it feels like it programs itself. I'm getting pretty good at it and given a few more weeks I'll probably feel very comfortable with it.

My problem is that my on the job experience is all in non-.NET stuff so I'm looking inexperienced in development to people looking for .NET programmers. Has anyone ever switched over in their career? Any advice for landing that first job in the new area would be appreciated.

I have a bachelors in computer science and am learning C#, .NET and ASP.NET via 5 Wrox and O'Reilly books I purchased and a copy of Visual Studio 2005. If anyone has any suggestions on a better way to learn I'd love to hear them.(other resources, etc)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Just start making some asp.net sites and include those in your resume. IMO, the best way to learn is by getting your hands dirty.

I work on different projects and sometimes I use PHP and sometimes I use .Net(c#). It can be hard switching back and forth between the two sometimes, but I think its great to have varied experience.

Hi Everyone,

Hi! :)

Has anyone ever switched over in their career? Any advice for landing that first job in the new area would be appreciated.

I've made two switches due to economic pressure. My first specialization was C/C++ on Solaris, and I moved to Java on Linux to keep up with marketing trends. More recently I've moved to .NET on Windows. Both changes were something of a slap in the face. :o