I am studying SEO and experimenting with http://troubled-asset-relief-program.net

I have it optimized for four keywords: Troubled Asset Relief Program, TARP, Bailout Bill, TARP Bailout Bill

You will see from the top 10 searches below, including the number of times the keyword has led to a visitor that I have completely failed in ranking for the keyword ‘bailout bill’ even though I have plenty of articles with this keyword in the title and body of the text. Why?

Is it because bailout bill is a far more competitive keyword, or is it because it doesn’t feature in the domain name and to have a keyword in the domain name is a massive advantage. Or some other reason?

1. troubled asset relief program 162
2. tarp asset managers 33
3. tarp asset manager 18
4. tarp pork 15
5. tarp text 14
6. tarp asset management 13
7. tarp assets 13
8. trouble asset relief program 13
9. tarp bill text 10
10. pork in tarp 9

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Are you doing off page optimization ... i.e. getting backlinks to your site with 'bailout bill' anchor text or the words 'bailout bill' mentioned on the pages that link to you?

thanks, no i am not doing any such activities for any of the keywords and do not plan to

May I ask why not? Buying links on other sites is definitely a black hat technique, but there are many legit ways to do off-page SEO that are fully endorsed, and even recommended, by Google. It's definitely super important to get yourself out there and get other sites talking about you ... in forums, in blogs, in social networking sites ... Viral marketing is key to a well-rounded search engine marketing campaign. On-page SEO can only take you so far.

yeah buying links may hurt your site someday and your site will be penalized.

the site is just an experiment in on-page SEO i am not interested in keeping it going long term.