Hi all, I just ran across this site today and have been getting some great info and advice from your posts....

I have been designing web sites for a couple years now. A friend and I are kicking around the idea of starting up a web woodworking site. He's a woodworking guru and I will do the web design. I am wondering how much traffic one needs to generate in order to sell advertising?

Is there a rule of thumb as to what you can charge for banner ads based upon the traffic?

I noticed this board used vBulliten software, does any bbs work better with say phpadsnew, I was also looking at phpbb, or invision board?

any suggestions as to finding out more about how to build a site geared toward ads and what types of ads or revenue methods there are other than just banner ads?

Can you make a living off of ad revenue from a single web site?

Thanks much in advance for any advise.....Lynn

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Lots of questions, so lots of answers...

Is there a rule of thumb as to what you can charge for banner ads based upon the traffic?

Ask your friend how much he charges for woodworking and you will get the same sort of response this question brings here. Every site is different, every niche is different and all these differences equate to a whole lot of rate diversity. A site could make $0.20 CPM (per thousand banners) or it could make $20 CPM just because of who visits the site, how many people visit it and perhaps most importantly, who sells the advertising.

I am wondering how much traffic one needs to generate in order to sell advertising?