I'm new to setting up HTML sites with CSS and I am trying to find the best way to setup the structure of a site. I've read online about the many ways you can setup the structure, but I'm not sure which way to go and am looking for some advice.

Should I use a 1 X 1 table with divs inside and no wrapper?
Should I use all divs and put my content in a wrapper?
Should I use all tables and style with CSS?

Right now my workflow has been to create a Photoshop PSD layered design, take it into Fireworks to slice & optimize it, export to Dreamweaver to setup CSS. It seems though that I end up with a ton of tables and when I add content to one cell it begins to stretch out the tables in the row which causes my background graphics to be broken apart. Would setting up my site with divs solve this problem? I'm used to building sites in Flash and not used to having issues like this.

I've also read that there are quite a few 'hacks' that need to be done to your CSS code in order for your site to be viewed the same in all browsers. Is there a list anywhere of the basic workarounds needed in order to be consistent with all browsers?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

i would suggest div's. Tables limit you.

you would have to create two style sheets. one that is set for FF, Chrome etc and then one for IE. you then include conditional commenting on your html including the style sheet so that it reads if it's IE and ignores if it's not

Is there a website somewhere that details the workarounds that I need to put in each stylesheet for FF and IE? Or a site that details what both IE and the other browsers are and are not capable of? I have read about a few of the "hacks" you need to use, but definitely don't know them all.

Any sites that anyone can recommend that has this info?

Two style sheets required with one framework. The reason that we include two style sheets is one for Fire Fox, Chrome etc. and one for IE.