I am classing this as a CSS problem because I don't know what else it could be.

The problem is that when I insert links into a page, only the first one (or maybe the second as in the example below) is recognized as a link (ie the pointer turns into a hand on a mouseover). Even though the links are set up correctly and they are valid and the css is highlighting it as a link, there is no reaction to a mouseover.

This is my first time setting up a page with just CSS. I copied a template that works fine and then changed it. It uses a mix of absolute and relative positioning and I am happy that everything is working as it should be except for this. This is part of a template for a CMS but I don't think any of that is relevant. I can take this same page and change the template back to the original version (that I copied) and all of the links work fine. There were some changes to the index.php file but they weren't significant.

This problem is consistent between my test system and the production server and across a number of different browsers. I read that transparent png backgrounds can cause problems so I removed one that I was using. I also put the CSS through a validator and corrected a few small problems. I have included a link to the CSS below. There is also an htc file (which hasn't changed from the original version) so I have included a link to that as well.

Here's a sample of some html with links where the first two work and the third doesn't. As you can see, the links are all the same:

<p>A <a href="http://localhost/wb_2.8.1_demo/pages/template-5/template-5a/template-5a1.php">link</a>&nbsp;and <a href="http://localhost/wb_2.8.1_demo/pages/template-5/template-5a/template-5a1.php">another</a>&nbsp;and <a href="http://localhost/wb_2.8.1_demo/pages/template-5/template-5a/template-5a1.php">one more</a></p> 
<p>&nbsp;</p>

CSS
HTC