(sorry if this doesn't belong here)

Anyone have any recommendations on layout for my homepage? HTML tables? CSS divs? Anything else? PROs/CONs. I don't mean to start a war. I'm just asking because I'm new to both (HTML/CSS) and don't really know where to start. Thanks!!!
Homepage

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I like that layout simple and effecient...

I like that layout simple and effecient...

haha, thanks. It's my first one. I was going to even pay someone to design it, but I got bored one day at work and started playing with VISIO and came up with that on the first try. But I don't know how to code it, yet.

Originally, by checking Daniweb's source, I figured tables&images were the best way to get a rounded look. I was turned off from tables once I typed "html tables vs css" in google. I found this site which has 3 examples of how to get rounded tables with CSS. But then I ran across this site, and I've been using that technique ever since. Cool thing about it is it doesn't use any images. I'm not sure why (noob) IE6 blocks the javascript calling it "Active Content" "To help protect your security, Internet Explorer has restricted this file from showing active content that could access your computer. Click here for options...". Is there a way around this? And why doesn't Firefox show a warning?

The first link tutorials give you geneal idea what you are about to do and how you can do it with different techniques.I love that Zen Garden example, brilliant work.
Second one, stright forward tutorials very nice done.

Anyway, good luck wih your development, hope to see final outcome of your work :p

Honestly, I just need some advice on how to get what's already drawn into code. I'll further tweak and modify after that.

There is a big debate over which is better, HTML tables or CSS. It just depends on what you prefer. I would suggest you try a little of both, see which one you grasp best. Or, it could be a combination of both.