hi i am new to this field about 2 years and i am 14 years old,

i juz wanna noe cuz i will be upgrading to a newer GPU (Gigabyte Geforce 8600 GT) all i know its not tooo bad and it is at least good on playing crysis...rite? oh anyways juz wanna noe if my this mainboard has a PCI-E slot or else i am SOOOO DEAD lol

this is my mother board name:

DELL 0WG864

Chipset:

Intel G965 Express Chipset Family

Video Card:

GMA X3000 (i know its lame XD)

RAM:

1.5 GB DDR2 533

HDD:

149 GB free space

PC brand:

DELL

Processor:

Pentium D Dual Core 2.66 GHZ

anyways does my computer has AGP too? plzz tell me ASAP anyone help~~!!!

so wanna play world in conflict and call of duty 4 -_=

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Open up your case and look where your gfx (graphics) card plugs into your motherboard. On the side of the slot it will say "PCI-E x16" if it is a modern PCI-E slot. If you do have AGP, you still can buy high end graphics cards, but they will cost you slightly more than a PCI-E card.

hmm i am not good at opening casings although i know how to open it but i dun wanna mess up anything in it so mayb i will nid reinforcements to arrive in 4 more days >< but i saw intel site says its PCI-E X16 does it means it is compatible for geforce 8800 ultra cards?

Most likely if you are running PCI-E x16
What power supply do you currently run on? A better graphics card will require more power to run it.

hmm...how do i check that? and i think its PCI-e cuz its like a PEG type slot...what does it mean

The easiest way to check the power of you PSU (power supply unit), is to open up your case and look at the label on the side of your PSU. This will then tell you a value in Watts (W). Most common values range from around 230W upwards, depending on the age of your machine. Too run top of the range graphics cards a PSU of around 500W is best. Anything lower than 400W, and you Graphics card will struggle to work at optimum performance.