I have a lot of simple VBScript files that were encrypted. I have lost the originals. The code still works within the intended platform, but now I need to do some maintenance. I used a free, vendor-supplied utility that compiled the VBS into a plug-in, but I don't know what encryption system they used.

I'd like to have someone take a look and at least tell me what type of encryption was used, so I can find the utility and/or decrypt the files.

Note, nothing illegal is going on here. I worked extensively with a software package years ago, never thought I'd use it again, and now find myself working with it again, needing to refresh/revise some of my old code without wanting to reinvent the wheel.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'd like to have someone take a look and at least tell me what type of encryption was used

I don't know if it will do any good but perhaps you could post one of the scripts for us to see.

I used a free, vendor-supplied utility

Can you tell us more about this? Perhaps a link to the vendor site?

The source code is VBScript. The encrypted text will likely not display properly online. The software is a proprietary document automation system... the vendor supplied me with a utility that they wrote in-house. It takes a GUI written in HTML, and VBScript code, and compiles it into a their own plugin format. It can leave the source code open, which allows the users to see and edit it on an "Advanced Tab" within the software, or encrypt it.

All of that is to say, I doubt 1) knowing the platform would help and 2) that the vendor used anything overly secure, in fact, I'd be surprised if it wasn't an open source encryption utility.

I'll try a screen shot of the encrypted VBS. The plain text is just that, plain VBScript...

Capture.PNG