Hi,

Im in my final year of an honours degree entitled software development and computer networking. For my final year project I have decided to implement a bandwidth management system for a small network.

The plan would be to develop something to run on a server on the network, implemented in php and having a web based ui for administration. Im a bit behind at the moment due to assignments in other subjects, its all just getting on top of me a bit.

Looking for a bit of guidance on using snmp to implement it and how I would actually do this with php. I need to hand up a 5000 - 10000 word research document in two weeks and dont have much done as i said. Im just all over the place atm tbh and dont know where to start.

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks,
mossy464

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Use iptables and LARTC. The "tc" command is what you're looking for when it comes to packet shaping. Regarding php you need to author a mechanism for running certain commands with elevated privelages (root) so you can modify the firewall and traffic control rules. It will essentially be a wrapper for the command line unless you want to tackle native calls ;)

This will police the inbound traffic from the given subnet to 0.6mbit.

tc qdisc add dev eth1 handle ffff: ingress
tc filter add dev eth1 parent ffff: protocol ip prio 50 u32 match ip src 216.196.0.0/16 police rate 0.6mbit burst 10k drop flowid :1

Thanks for the reply. A friend of mine advised developing using net-snmp and perl.

Will this allow me to have a web based ui.

Hi mossy,
I am in the same situation as you, however i am advised not to use any packages, like squid, but to implement the bandwidth management system by myself. Can u advise how you did it and which tools u used. My submission deadline is in two weeks and i've not started yet.
thanks and kind regards

Hi,