Hello all,
My friend recently rented a server, through a site, and he wanted me to help him run it, as he has very little computer knowledge. I used SSH Secure Shell (TM) (running Windows 7), to access it, and accidentally closed the window without disconnecting. Since then I have been unable to access the server from this machine. I'm getting access denied, even though I am sure the username and password are correct.

My friend is still able to access the server from his machine with the same account information. We were not attempting to be on the same account in two locations, because that was the first thing I thought of and asked, "Are you still signed on?" His answer was no.

Could this be a result of the failure to disconnect? Am I, or my friend, going to have to contact the owner of the server to fix the problem? If so, what should we tell him that the problem is?

If this is the wrong place to ask please inform me, as I'm new to servers, and linux, and don't know who to ask.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

It does not make sense for the server to block you unless the account is restricted to only one connection per user. I am not sure what ssh client you are using to access the server but may I suggest you try PUTTY.

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

I work for a hosting company and have been supporting Linux for 20 years and it is the best free client. You will be able to connect and if nothing else see why you are not connected.

Thanks for the rapid reply.

After the client I've been using didn't work I did try putty, and the only error it gave me was "access denied". I'm not sure what you mean by one connection per user.