I was a linux admin, back in time, 6 or 7 years ago. Now i am a FreeBSD admin, using it with great success (for those that did not heard about FreeBSD, Yahoo uses it, also Hotmail used it before it was purchased by microsoft).

Everyhing is fine with FreeBSD, which is not much different from linux, still linux is more known and some people need linux setups, so coming back to linux my question to you is what is now the best linux distribution for Servers (web, mail, vpn, router - usages)?

I heard about CentOS, Whitebox which are descendants of RH9, also about Ubuntu, but I want to know your experience tips about what's best for servers.

thank you
ovidiu

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

Most of our servers that aren't running Solaris are running on RH Enterprise.
The rest run Debian.
That's a total of something like a hundred Linux servers.

I supose you are running Solaris on Sun RISC not on x86, right? I've heard that Solaris's strength comes from RISC processors too, not only from the OS itself, and performance is much better on RISC than on Intel compatibles CPUs.

Thanks for your answer!
best regards,
ovidiu

Personally, I wouldn't run Solaris on an x86 server. Redhat Enterprise is definately starting to shape up to a decent server OS. Debian is nice, but you won't find it on my server. Ubuntu is more for desktop end-user than it is for a server. If you can find a host that offers RHEL, there is no reason to stick with CentOS and Whitebox. If you can't, then I would use CentOS. CentOS is actually compiled from the SRPMS from the latest RHEL distrobution.

i like redhats GUI tools for configuring things

SuSE is buggy and is often thaught of as a dekstop OS but makes not a bad server i ahve found

i hate ubuntu for servers (sudo is a crap idea) but i love debian. I usually do a base netinstall then apt-get whatever i need so i can have a server up and running in no time at all