picked up a powermac 5400/200. I can not get past the at ease log in because I do not know the user name or password. Is there a way to turn this off or reset the needed info. Thanks for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Sorry I have no experience with anything lower than OS X on a G4/G5. What's an at ease login? Is it something like the equivalent of a BIOS password?

picked up a powermac 5400/200. I can not get past the at ease log in because I do not know the user name or password. Is there a way to turn this off or reset the needed info. Thanks for any help.

If you are referring to the boot up password (as in bios, like CSCGAL indicated), then you would have to disassemble the unit, remove the CMOS battery for about five minutes, put it back in, and the boot password will not be needed, but this isn't a procedure I recommend to you if you are not a highly skilled hardware technician. If you are referring to a login password in Mac OS, if you have a Mac OS CD available to you, you could boot it from the CD and just Reinstall the Mac OS on it. I believe the version that shipped with that particular model was system 7.6.1, but if you can get hold of Mac OS 8.1, that should work on it.

If you are referring to the boot up password (as in bios, like CSCGAL indicated), then you would have to disassemble the unit, remove the CMOS battery for about five minutes, put it back in, and the boot password will not be needed, but this isn't a procedure I recommend to you if you are not a highly skilled hardware technician. If you are referring to a login password in Mac OS, if you have a Mac OS CD available to you, you could boot it from the CD and just Reinstall the Mac OS on it. I believe the version that shipped with that particular model was system 7.6.1, but if you can get hold of Mac OS 8.1, that should work on it.