I'm new to the whole "network" scheme. My laptop is scheduled to be delivered on Monday (4/7/08), and I was considering print options for the laptop. I have a HPF335 printer, and it's connected to my desktop. So If I wanted to print from the laptop without using a USB cord, is a print server the answer? This server is an example of what i'm referring to.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

if you have a wireless router then you dont have to have a print server.

you could either connect the priter to the router if the router suppotrs printers

or you could share the printer from the computer that it is already connected to. you would just have to create a network connection on both the laptop and the other computer and then add the printer to the laptop. this would also mean that the computer that is connected to the printer would need to be on if you wanted to print.

Oh i see, that's some good info. So I'm assuming most people just get a router that supports printers, right?

well I guess that is a matter of personal choice.

It would depend on how many computers you have in the network, will you print from each one, is there a chance that more than one computer will want to print at the same time and so on. but if you just have 2 or 3 computers I wouldn't worry about if the router suppots printers unless thats just how you want to set it up. in that case USRobotics has a router with a built in print server.

I will have two computers. You say you wouldn't worry about if the router supports printing. So If it doesn't support it, my desktop would have to be on in order to print from the laptop. Right?

If I have a router such as this one, what effect will it have on my comcast DSL modem? Do I still need it, or will that router take it's place?

correct, if you share the printer through the computer it is connected to, then that computer will need to be on when you wanted to print from the laptop.