Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here (obviously I guess) and I am attempting to rebuild (or build) my wireless network.

A few months back, I purchased a Linksys router because I wanted to be able to play my PS2 online and have someone surf the net @ the same time. The game and workstation are both in the same room so that was no problem.

Call it beginners ignorance or just plain old ignorance but I didn't secure the network. I know that neighbors etc could hop on to my connection (I'm connected through Comcast) but I didn't care.

I also have another PC in the house about 2 rooms away that I also wanted to (eventually) connect to the router.

Today, I purchased a laptop and as soon as I hooked it up and turned it on, I was connected to the internet (and could also hop on to my neighbors' unsecured networks if I wanted to).

So anyways, I have now decided to do the whole shabbang - Secured Wireless Network.

So here's what I have so far on the (Unsecured) network:
1. Workstation 1
2. PS2
3. Laptop

And here's what I want on the (Secured) network:
1. Worsktation 1
2. Workstation 2
3. PS2
4. Laptop
5. Shared Printer (if possible)

My router only has 4 ports - but I figured I wont need a port for the laptop right???

Ok I figured the other thread was getting too long so I cut it short.

So I did the following:
1. Changed the SSID
2. Input new passphrase
3. Enabled WEP
4. MAC Address Filtering

(According to this link: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/12040 - Go to the Linksys link)

After doing all that (from the workstation that was original connected to the router), I wasn't able to see the laptop in the "Active PCs" list.

And that is my first snag in setting up my secure network

Was I suppose to be able to view it there?

Anyway, I was able to now view my network (the SSID I changed it to) on my laptop, but when I clicked it, it asked for the passphrase.