This is my first post on this forum and would like to say hi to everyone first. I know this sounds crazy but believe me it's been giving me creeps for such a long time. I've been studying software engineering for 2 years and done a bit of programming in several languages. But the problem is Maths.Yeah, I admit that I didn't do my maths homework in high school days ;). Recently, I've been reading a bit about voice recognition and face recognition. I'm sure ya guys have probably guessed it requires extensive amount of maths and all those weird characters are seriously giving me a headache. I just wanna ask ya guys opinions on what sort of maths that a computer programmer should master and I'd be much appreciated if any of you can point me out to a right direction. Tutorials or easy to follow-up articles would be great. Thanks everyone in advance and will be looking forward to any inputs from you guys.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

This forum and others see this question a lot and you get answers that range from none - > everything.

So I will point out something that I have noticed, I have never studied and understood any maths that immediately looked useful, but I always seem to find that it is useful later.

[Note: I often started studing some area of maths because I thought it would be useful, but on actually obtaining some understanding I am normally impressed by its beauty but not its usefulness, that comes later]

Other than that, you are going to need lots and lots of maths for those two fields, lots of calculus , functional theory, vector analysis, fourier and Laue transform analysis, group theory, Baysean theory.
Just scratch the surface.

What you haven't really given us is any real idea of how deep your general maths is? Do you need to go from a good base into specialized areas or do you struggle to take the derivative of a one variable function ? If it is only high-school level (basic caculus etc)