Member Avatar for Ajantis

Hey folks :)

I am studying for my final exam, and I have some issues with this Big Oh notation. Really - I've been reading about it like crazy, but I just can't to understand it all properly.

What I know is that it is some kind of measurement of growth rate.
How much time it takes for a certain input to be computed.

And I can't seem to grasp how it really is measured with loops.

If I have a loop like this:

for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
do this...

then I know it's the problem of size N.

for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++)
for(int j = 0; j < 10; j++)
do this...

then I know it's the problem of size N^2.

HOWEVER... there are many different ways... and the teacher mentioned about the square root of N... N loglogN... N log^2 N... N^2 log N... and many more. How do I know how those look like?

Also with divide and conquer algorithms... you can divide a problem to N/2. How? I reeeeeally don't have any feeling of how to understand these stuff whatsoever. And I've been reading some books about it - they keep talking and talking... and they talk about everything except the Big Oh notation! Seriously... can someone please help me understand this thing once and for all? And at least get a feeling how I can compute it? :S

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

>square root of N... N loglogN... N log^2 N... N^2 log N...
>and many more. How do I know how those look like?

They're generally not as clear cut as N and N^2 because you typically don't see this kind of loop directly:

for (int i = 0; i < n; i++) {
  for (int j = 0; j < log10(n); j++) {
    // ...
  }
}

Obviously it's O(N logN), but usually you need to look a little deeper. For example:

for (int i = 0; i < n; i++) {
  bst.insert(load_value());
}

This is O(N logN) as well because the insert algorithm for the binary search tree is assumed to be logarithmic. It's really the same thing, but not as obvious. Simple loops are used to convey the idea of growth because it's easy to illustrate.