i am an IT student maybe 1 1/2 year from now i will be graduated with bachelor degree if i will be luck, at this time i still confused what languages to study hard and to focus more that can help my carrier for the future,

now i ask your idea guys what language for me to study?

TNX_GodBless

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

there is no "best", each has its benefits and drawbacks based on what you actually want to do with them.

It's hard to say - if impossible at all - what language may be essential for your carrier. It totally depends... on your future job profile. Besides i can almost guarantee that you will not learn in university/college such things that will be needed by your future employer. So you are slightly over-estimating question importance. Also it can be that your future job will need a language that you didn't met in university ! So you must prepare to learn any language by yourself on behalf of employer requirements.
So these things points to idea that you should be familiar enough with most languages which are taught in university. And finally, just my personal opinion,- you should know C language very well, because:
1. It is programming *classics*, which should know every educated developer.
2. It is most popular language. see:
http://www.tiobe.com/index.php/content/paperinfo/tpci/index.html
3. There are most code examples on net written in C or JAVA (based on google code search)
http://langpop.com/
4. Finally C (and C++) programs are fastest compared to other languages (except of course assembler), because they are *closer* to computer hardware than any other language is (yes, still assembler closer ;) ).
http://shootout.alioth.debian.org/u32/benchmark.php?test=all&lang=gcc&lang2=python3

So in my opinion make a VERY good start with C and later you will be able to branch to any required language.

Well, it all depends on what you already know and what you are looking for.