Hi guys,
planning to do my masters in computer science. I'm very R&D oriented and interested in scientific software. Currently i'm a C# developer in multi-threading environment. I'm pretty comfortable in c/c++ as well. Looking forward to master a subject. Stuff that i'm interested are computer architecture, image processing and distributed systems. Any comments are welcomed and will be considered a help on decision making. Event if the subject not mentioned on the above list, please consider any and i'm still willing to consider. Please breakdown your suggestions and justification in this format if can. Thank you.

i) area of knowledge(e.g image processing)
ii) industry that requires and applies this area of knowledge.
iii) future and demand for this area of knowledge.
iv) Your personal view and advise.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Study what you're interested in. If you're good at programming, i.e. actually capable of serious programming, you'll be in demand no matter what. And if you're not, well, I wouldn't care if my advice was bad for you.

if your programming is very strong then you can do masters in computer science.

I will comment, that your programming AND your math need to be strong to do a masters. I believe that you can effectively trade between ability in them. Extremely good math, and ok programming will work as well. If I have to select between two candidates I have a tendency to go for stronger math. [Note there is a minimum in both areas that you are going to need].