Hello again! I want to know what the best way to approach understanding how an application works is. I have a game that is highly moddable with Lua and I would actually like to do that. The problem is I don't know how to make sense of it all. There are maybe a hundred to 150 lua files to sift through.

Besides using the "find in files" feature in most scripting applications how else could I find out how everything or just a few pieces of it work? If I wanted to do just a few small mods what would be the best way to do that? Must I understand the entire picture or just select parts of it? This is something I have never done before. I hope this isn't a pointless question that can't be answered.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

This is indeed something of a problem. It is always difficult to jump into a new and large code-base. You should concentrate on any available overview documentation (e.g., explaining how it works or is structured), tutorials (e.g., showing how to make mods), and reference documentation (e.g., class references).

If you need to really dig into the source code of the library / application, then you need to find a relevant starting point. This could be something that is similar to what you want to do or modify. When you find a decent starting point, just look it up and try to understand what it does and how it works, and work your way out from there, by looking up related code (e.g., that is called within that code you are looking at, etc.). The "find in files" is definitely a central tool when exploring a code-base because it gives you an instant snapshot of where certain things are used and declared. For example, if you want to modify the behavior of class A, then there is a good chance that you will want to look at all the places where class A is used so that you can assess if your modified version will work or if you need to modify other things.