Hey I'm new to programming but I know enough now that I have been trying to program my own game. I works, but I think my code is too complicated. Does someone want to test it and give me some suggestions? Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

I'll check it out, and see what I can come up with to help you out. I'll try debugging it, as well. Please note that my knowledge in C++ is limited, but I'm starting college on March 3rd for video game programming. I'll let you know if I come up with anything.

Here's something that I already found after reading just a few lines.

line #254

player.health = player.str * 10;

You already have that declared on line 158, so you're not going to have that declared again.

lines #247 - #267

if(playerexp >= 50)
{
	  player.lvl++;
	  player.str++;
	  player.acc = player.acc + 0;
	  player.intell++;
	  player.adrenaline = player.intell * 10;
	  player.health = player.str * 10;
	  cout << "Congratulations, you gained a level! You have gained\n";
	  cout << "1 Strength\n";
	  cout << "0 Accuracy\n";
	  cout << "1 Intelligence\n" << endl;
	  cout << "Your new stats are: " << endl;
	  cout << "Level: " << player.lvl << endl;
	  cout << "Strength: " << player.str << endl;
	  cout << "Accuracy: " << player.acc << endl;
	  cout << "Intelligence: " << player.intell << endl;
	  cout << "Health: " << player.health << endl;
	  cout << "Adrenaline: " << player.adrenaline << endl << endl;
	  system("PAUSE");
}

I'd just have that be in a module that you'd call at the beginning of the file. It could be in something like functions.cpp. Once you have the module created, you'd replace that code with the following

if neededexp = 0
{
     levelup();
}
else
{
     neededexp = neededexp - expgained;
}

The repeated battle animations can be cut from this file, and put into a function that would be in functions.cpp

lines #319 - #795