This might sound like a noob question, but that is because I am a noob. Anyways, I was just wondering what's good about inheritance and polymorphism in game development? I'm learning about them now and I can understand it mostly, but I can't wrap my head around an important use and any help would be very, very appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Ichi

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Well there is a very simple example (in C++):

//create an interface class for a visible objects.
class VisibleObject {
  public:
    virtual void render() = 0; //pure virtual function that renders the object.
};

class Box : public VisibleObject {
  private:
  public:
    void render(); //implement this such that it renders a box.
};

class Cylinder : public VisibleObject { .... };

class Model3D : public VisibleObject { .... };

//etc..

//later on:
class Scene {
  private:
    vector<VisibleObject*> visible_object_list;
  public:
    void render() {
      for(int i=0; i<visible_object_list.size(); ++i)
        visible_object_list[i]->render(); //polymorphic call to render whichever type of visible object this is.
    }; //the implementation should be in the cpp file.. but inlined for sake of example.
};

I can't wrap my head around an important use and any help would be very, very appreciated.

I'm an old school programmer. When I started the standard of the day was top down programmer. You would right the code, keeping it separate from the data stack, and it worked fine for some problems. If you wrote a routine that did a whiz bang job of taking care of a problem space, we patted ourselves on the back for a good job, and then moved on.