Hallo
Im new in the game programming world with C++, really new! I want to make a 3D game.I installed today VS 2010 because I heard that there are unfixed errors(since 2005). I have a couple of books called " beginning C++ game programming" , "mastering Autodesk 3ds mask 2013"( probably I aint gonna be able to run a fresh program) and "introducing 3D game programming with directX". are these good or better suggestions? how can I learn most efficiently? I also heard that will need to have 3ds max and DirectX. how will I combine those with C++? and what file/project do I need? I tried using a new cpp file but couldn't found lIke compile and run.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If you are new to game programming then you should start with a 2D game. There is a massive gap between 2D and 3D if you plan on writing any of your own code (physics or other engine elements).

If you are new to game programming then you should start with a 2D game. There is a massive gap between 2D and 3D if you plan on writing any of your own code (physics or other engine elements).

Well, i have worked with 2D with game maker for already several years, but im no kinda bored with it. i dont care if its hard to make a 3d game but i except it. I prefer going in a deep swimming pool than in a little child pool(symbolic meant). but if its really bad starting with 3D I would go to 2D first. But can you help me a bit? 'Cause I started studying last week c++ language but I couldn't do anything with the errors of dev++. But in VS I cant find compile and execute. Also how can you make "sprites" for your game if you work with C++?

Since you have just recently started learning C++ and I don't know what programming background you have. I would suggest that you learn the foundations of the language before moving on to graphics.