Hi there!

Im studying web aplication development and I was looking arround the Internet for information about game development in browsers as im interested in that area, however, I didn't found much that could help me advance in this so I decided to ask in this forum in order to get some good responses and information.

So I have been told that the best tecnology for making browser games is Flash, wich uses ActionScript 3 if im not mistaken, so here are some questions:

-Is this the best way to do it?
-Is it the only way?
-What would be important aspects to consider?
-Are there better solutions?

I have been looking arround and I've seen that I also need knowledge in transfer protocols and sockets in order to make it multiplayer, as I have no idea about this:

-What do I need to conect a group of users together in the same game?

In general I just want information about all I need for the development of an multiplayer browser game, as an example I would say a simple ping pong game (2 bars 1 ball) and 2 players 1 versus 1 would be good.

I have knowledge about Java, JavaScript, PHP, HTML, XML, XSL, XPATH, CSS and MYSQL.

Thanks in advance and sorry If my English is not perfect as it isn't my native language,

Cheers!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Is this the best way to do it?

that would depend on several factors like resources, target audience, proposed project details, time allowance, etc.

For resources you'd need to have a platform where you can create the game like Flash CS series or macromedia which doesn't come cheap.

For a ping pong game it would be a bit easy to make, this project should be beginner friendly

I'd like to say more about other details but since I don't have know much info yet I'll leave it at this.

Is it the only way?

No since you learned Java you should be well aware of Java Applets (though not that abundant)