Hi everyone, I am a first year computer-science major and in our software engineering module we have been assigned to make a game(I have never built one before other than a tic-tac toe game that I made to waste time on). We are going to use a game building kit/platform that works on mac, windows and linux. So first, I would like to know if someone can tell me of the platform he might be talking about. Second me and my mates are a bit confused on where to start.(the lecture said any game will do, but I want to make the best there is) so I imagined if the game can support the three platforms then it might not be too graphic intensive and the fact that it is a 9 weeks. So we were looking at playstation one games, like alien resurrection, tekken 3, mortal combat 4, quake 2, Xena and those sort of games. Are we going overboard or are we thinking too small ( on a 9 week project ).I am willing to work day and night to make the best game. I will accept any advice and maybe game ideas or like games on other platforms (like IOS) and I will do the research. Plus I will give update on what the platform is after two weeks when we will be told so you can give me help. Thanks everybody in advance!!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Member Avatar for humorousone

For the software, they may be talking about Unity.
Click Here
I know it supports win and mac although i'm not sure about linux.

As for your project:

If your task is to recreate an older game, I'd go for something smaller scale (maybe an old 2D game?)
Although you have newer tools, you have to question how long it took the original developers to finish the game.

Creating a game on several platforms (classing win/linux as a single platform, and mobile OS's as another) may be VERY overboard.
It takes a lot of work to create a game that works on both platforms (different programming language, directory handling ect.).