Okay...

So I am an avid programmer. I have been writing applications in C, C++ and C# for almost 10 years now. I'm also a second year computer science student.

Like many people I love computer games, more specifically adventure/ rpg games like runescape, elder scrolls etc.

I have programmed games on my own in the past, pong, Mario clone, a proof of concept rpg (basically a player walking around an environment examining objects placed in the world).

However I have recently gotten into 3D modeling again, I've been keeping up with this hoppy for nearly 5 years now, however recently I have re-found my love for it.

I would love to put my two skills together and make a game I love, a simple rpg like game. However I'm not too sure where to start. Do I use an existing engine and program with that ( unity/c# ue4/c++), do I go from scratch and write everything myself (rendering engine, game manager ect)?

I'm finding the hardest part deciding what to do and sticking to it, as there is an overwhelming number of paths to take.

My question is, where do I start and how do I make sure I stick to a plan?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

My nod is to using engines. I think that engine creation is an art and team all to its own. So for a game creator it's more about the big design and then how to implement. If you dive into a graphics engine you are now buried in that.

If you can afford unity, I'd stick with that as, and this is an opinion, not fact, that way you get a shot at cross platform and more.