Hello all,

I am a final year student developing a project on Image processing. I am thinking of using OpenGL for back-end processing. Is there any particular advantage in this choice like improved performance or ease-of-use? Are there any other options also available?
I can code only in C/C++ & have some basic knowledge of OpenGL.
My system configuration is AMD 3000+, Nvidia Geforce 7300 LE, 1GB RAM, Windows/Linux so advice accordingly.

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

The short answer is:
OpenGL is easier to implement and DirectX has better performance.
google should tell you more

I'm not going to do your homework for you ;)

The short answer is:
OpenGL is easier to implement and DirectX has better performance.
google should tell you more

I'm not going to do your homework for you ;)

Thanks for your advice & the homework tip.:|

DirectX doesn't necessarily have better performance : it really depends how the graphics card manufacturers build their cards, and write their drivers. Without hardware acceleration, DirectX is probably faster, but only on Windows ( and only because the software implementation of OpenGL from Microsoft isn't great ). With hardware acceleration, the limiting factor is the card itself, not the API.

However, DirectX only works on Windows/XBox anyway - OpenGL works on a larger number of platforms.

Read: http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article1775.asp, it's pretty unbiased and ( importantly ) it's up-to-date. Much discussion you'll find on the net about OGL vs. DX is way out of date.

commented: Thanks for the correction/follow up +9