hello everyone,
can anyone help in writing a perl script which automatically replaces the commands in a
file(command file), with the new values. i have written a code but its not working properly.
if anyone could help me plz. i am new to this scripting language.

thanks in advance.

Thanks & Regards
Nisha

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

post your perl code and post any error messages you get when you run the perl code.

this is the code i have written, plz check it if it is the correct way to do it.
#!/grid/common/bin/perl
$file="old_data.txt";
$dir="../nishap";
$sub="nisha";
$path="$dir/$sub/$file";

open(OLD_DATA,"$path") or die("cant open the file $path ");
while($line=<OLD_DATA>)
{
chomp($line);
if($line =~/^abc_xyz_cwd$/)
# if($line =~/^(\w+(.*))$/)
{
$data1=$line;
$data1=~s/abc_xyz_cwd/abc_xyzcwd/gi;
print "$data1\n";
exit;
}
if($line=~/^aa_aa$/)
# if($line =~/^(\w+(.*))$/)
{
$data2=$line;
$data2=~s/aa_aa/aaaa/gi;
print"$data2\n";

}
if($line=~/^bb$/)
{
$data3=$line;
$data3=~s/bb/b_b/gi;
print"$data3\n";

}
if($line=~/^c_c$/)
{
$data4=$line;
$data4=~s/c_c/cc/gi;
print"$data4\n";

}
if($line=~/^dd_ee$/)
{
$data5=$line;
$data5=~s/dd_ee/dde_e/gi;
print"$data5\n";

}
}
$new="out_data.txt";
open(OUT_DATA,">>../nishap/nisha/out_data.txt") or die("cant open the file $new");
{
print OUT_DATA "
$data1
$data2
$data3
$data4
$data5
\n";
}
close(OUT_DATA);

Hi,
Please go through this, before posting your code. Its not an assignment, just a prerequisite if you want to get really quick help.

Only with code it is hard to know what is working and what is not. Provide some input(example) details. Post your errors, if any OR if you are getting output, post it and explain, how you want it to be or how different it is from what you want.

katharnakh.

plz check it if it is the correct way to do it.

Sorry, but I am not a mind reader. I have no idea what your code is supposed to do. See katharnakhs post.

Hi,