I'm new to class modules, and the compiler seems to be enforcing a correlation of the number of input vars for a Get and Let procedure of the same property. The Let property must always have exactly one more variable (the NewValue) than the Get procedure. So the code I've got below does not work, because of the discrepancy in input vars:

Property Get Length() As Integer

Length = UBound(mProj, 2)

End Property

Property Let Length(NewVal As Integer, Clear As Boolean)

If NewVal < 0 Then Err.Raise 50000, , "Value cannot be negative."
If Clear = True Then
    ReDim mProj(1, NewVal)
Else
  ReDim Preserve mProj(1, NewVal)
End If

End Function

(i altered a bit for clarity so there might be a minor mistake)

My question is why does this have to be the case? It seems that a person, when setting a property to a certain value, might have an untold number of factors affecting the decision, which should be passed as variables. But to simply retrieve this certain property might require no input variables at all.
It just seems like such a strange issue to a fundamental situation, so I was wondering if anyone knows of a workaround, or if I'm missing something, etc.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi,
Think of a property just as if it were a regular variable. You can get or assign only one value at once.
If you need to pass more than one parameter to a property, instead use a regular Sub procedure.

Hope it helps,

Yes, I agree dmf1978 points, Property is a special feature in VB6. It encapsulates a private member variable inside a class.

For Ex
'in a Class

Private mLength As Integer
Public Property Get Length() As Integer
   Length = mLength
End Property

Public Property Let Length(ByVal vNewValue As Integer)
   mLength = vNewValue
End Property

This is normal, But u can have global variable instead

Public Length as Intger

Here the Problem is "you cannot restrict the Value when it is Public variable" but you can do it in Properties.