Hi, I'm a beginner at VB.NET and I want to know how to change the appearance of a form when you click a button. Basically, I have a table that holds information. The user can choose between this table view or a preview. If he chooses preview, the table will disappear and the information will be displayed in labels. This is a basic idea of what I'm trying to do. The problem is I don't know if I should remove the table/label when switching screens, hide it, or reposition it. What should I do?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

- To change form appearance you need to work with GDI, basically Graphics class read on msdn.com
- You've list of all controls in this.Controls, you add\remove controls..

No, I'm wondering how to do that on like a button click, not with the drag and drop stuff... like the first screen is set up. Then when the program is running you click a button and one control (the table) disappears and another control (a label) appears. I'm sorry if my question is very basic, but I don't know how to do this...

Here's the basic idea you're looking for

Private m_ViewState As Boolean

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
  '
  If m_ViewState Then
    DataGridView1.Visible = True
    DataGridView1.Enabled = True
    ' Hide label(s)
    Label1.Visible = False
  Else
    DataGridView1.Visible = False
    DataGridView1.Enabled = False
    ' Show label(s)
    Label1.Visible = True
  End If
  m_ViewState = Not m_ViewState

End Sub

You may also consider using tab control with two tabs. One tab for the table view and the second tab for the label view.

Need to create\remove a control at runtime?

Here's the basic idea you're looking for

Private m_ViewState As Boolean

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
  '
  If m_ViewState Then
    DataGridView1.Visible = True
    DataGridView1.Enabled = True
    ' Hide label(s)