Hi,

I am brand new to the DaniWeb Forums. I'm also very new to VB, and I taking my first course on it. I nearly have a large project done, but I have one main issue that I have not been able to resolve on my own as of yet.

My issue is that I'm trying to set a final form page that retains the calculated totals from three previous forms within a project. I believe I may need to create a module for this, but I'm not certain of how my code should be stated. I assume that I would chose something that appears to be global and or public in the module for each of the three original forms, and then place a corresponding code in those three original forms. I'm just not sure what type of coding I should be using - I've looked over public variables in my text books but, didn't find anything that work for this project. Would someone mind giving me a sample coding or and idea of where/how I should start this segment? Also not certain if this is relevant, but two of my forms contain radio button controls and one of my forms contains a series of check box forms. Really appreciate any answers/input you can give me on this topic.
Thanks!
Tina

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Real simple answer is to add a module and declare your varibles with the Public keyword. Then from each of your forms as you complete your calculations you can assign these/this variable with the result of your calculations. Thus in the next form you should be able to retrieve the valued stored within this/these variables.

However, if you do not want to add a module you can declare a public variable at the top of form1 in the general declarations area. Then you could reference that variable from the other forms via Form1.VariableName = Value or Value = Form1.VariableName as long as you don't unload the form, Hide it until program ends or only unload it after you are done with your calculations.

Good Luck

vb5prgrmr,