Hello, Id like to start by saying that I am a beginning programmer. Ive almost finished my code optimizer as my first serious project. What Ive designed this program to do it go through a source (.vbp) file and clean up the coding (removing large unnecessary spaces), from there, there are options to obfusicate the code and other various features...

However, ive found a major bug in one of my options (for auto compiling the edited bit of code). What this should do is compile the code to either a form, module, or class module when you click the corresponding button. Form and module button works fine, but the class module button is having some issues.

I drop the normal module as follows

Private Sub button1_Click()
Open App.Path & "\" & sBas & "Module.bas" For Binary As #1
Put #1, , text1.Text
Close #1
MsgBox "Your code has been saved to regular module on working directory", vbInformation, "Done!"

And I edited that code accordingly to try and drop my class module,

Private Sub button2_Click()
Open App.Path & "\" & sCls & "Classmodule.cls" For Binary As #1
Put #1, , text1.Text
Close #1
MsgBox "Your code has been saved to class module on working directory", vbInformation, "Done!"

it does seem to indeed drop the class module as I would like, but when I attempt to open that class module VB6 seems to treat it as a regular module?

Any help to get it opening into an actual class module would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

There are attributes in the various types of files that tell the environment what they are. Merely changing the file extension is insufficient.

Create a module and a class, then open them in NotePad, and see what the details are there.