Hi, i'm new to vb but acquainted with programming in java, C, and other languages. I´m developing an application and i'm having difficulties at commanding controls from different forms.

It's like this:

Form1 has some buttons and charts, and in Form2 it's a "Settings" form to select the category and series for the charts. When i close the Form2 i need to activate some controls like buttons in Form1 and the problem is that at run-time i can call functions like this one:

In Form1:

Public Sub EnableButton()
        button1.Enabled = True 
    End Sub

In Form2:

Public Sub BeforeClosing()
        Form1.EnableButton()    
        Me.close()
    End Sub

Using breaks i can see that they execute and the properties of the button change but after the close event of Form2, the properties of the button1 control become unchanged.

The same is happening to my chart but a little weirder (for me at least)

At the global variables i have:

Dim newChart As System.Windows.Forms.DataVisualization.Charting.Chart

At ButtonX_Click i create a new chart and define some properties and in the end i activate the Form2

Private Sub ButtonSettings_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles ButtonSettings.Click

newChart = New System.Windows.Forms.DataVisualization.Charting.Chart
        newChart.Visible = False
        CType(newChart, System.ComponentModel.ISupportInitialize).BeginInit()
        CType(newChart, System.ComponentModel.ISupportInitialize).EndInit()

Me.Controls.Add(newChart)
        newChart.Parent = Me

newChart.Location = New System.Drawing.Point(Me.Location.X, Me.Location.Y)
        newChart.Height = Me.Height - 25
        newChart.Width = Me.Width

newChart.Name = "grafico"
        newChart.Text = "grafico"
        newChart.BorderlineWidth = 1
        newChart.BorderlineColor = Color.LightSteelBlue
        newChart.BorderlineDashStyle = DataVisualization.Charting.ChartDashStyle.Solid

Form2.Show()

End Sub

When i leave Form2 i do: